The Minnesota Science Teachers Association
Join MnSTA   |   Site Map   |   

March 22, 2012

MnSTA Member “Action Alert”

Please read this letter in addition to this legislative alert!

As chair of the MnSTA Legislative Policy Committee I would like to alert you to concerns regarding two pieces of legislation that are making their way through committees (HF 0682 and SF 451).  Each bill addresses the current statute that all students graduating in 2014-15 school years or later must satisfactorily complete a chemistry, physics or career and technical education credit that meets the chemistry or physics standards.

Last year the graduation requirement was amended to include career and technical education with the caveat that a CTE class be based upon either all of the chemistry or physics standards.  Now HF 0682 and SF 451 propose to further change the requirement to a chemistry, or physics or career and technical education class that “utilizes standards associated with either the chemistry, physics, or biology credit or a combination thereof,”

The MnSTA board has several concerns about this proposed change.  Our concerns are expressed in the formal “letter” which will be sent to legislators, the Governor, Commissioner Cassellius and Education Minnesota. 

You may or may not agree with the proposed changes made in the bill and you may or may not agree with the MnSTA board concerns.  However, the Legislative Policy Committee does want you to be aware of the proposed changes.  If you desire to express your concerns please contact your local Minnesota State Representative and Senator.  In addition you might want to contact the members of the House Education Reform and Senate Education Committees. 

-Chuck Handlon
MnSTA Legislative Policy Committee Chair


 Contact information:

House Education Reform Committee

Chair Rep. Sondra Erickson

Representative Connie Doepke

Representative   Carlos Mariani

Representative Roger Crawford

Representative Mindy Greiling

Representative Andrea Kieffer

Representative Carol McFarlane

Representative Mike Murdock

Representative Branden Petersen

Representative Sandra Petersen

Representative Kelby Woodard

Representative Bob Barrett

Representative John Benson

Representative Jim Davnie  

Representative Kory Kath

(Author) Representative Debra Kiel

Representative Rena Moran

Representative Pam Myhra

Representative Kim Norton

Representative Tim O’Driscoll

Representative Tom Tillberry


Senate Education Committee

(Chair) Senator Gen Olson

(Author) Senator LeRoy Stumpf LeRoy A. Stumpf

Senator Roger Chamberlain

Senator Al DeKruif

Senator John Harrington

Senator Katie Sieben

Senator David Tomassoni David J. Tomassoni

Senator Patricia Torres Ray Patricia Torres Ray

Senator Chuck Wiger

Senator Carla Nelson

Senator Terri Bonoff

Senator Ted Daley

Senator David Hann David W. Hann

Senator Benjamin Kruse

Senator Sean Nienow

Senator Pam Wolf

Senator Dave Thompson