The Minnesota Science Teachers Association
Join MnSTA   |   Site Map   |   

March 22, 2012

MnSTA Member “Action Alert”

Please read this letter in addition to this legislative alert!

As chair of the MnSTA Legislative Policy Committee I would like to alert you to concerns regarding two pieces of legislation that are making their way through committees (HF 0682 and SF 451).  Each bill addresses the current statute that all students graduating in 2014-15 school years or later must satisfactorily complete a chemistry, physics or career and technical education credit that meets the chemistry or physics standards.

Last year the graduation requirement was amended to include career and technical education with the caveat that a CTE class be based upon either all of the chemistry or physics standards.  Now HF 0682 and SF 451 propose to further change the requirement to a chemistry, or physics or career and technical education class that “utilizes standards associated with either the chemistry, physics, or biology credit or a combination thereof,”

The MnSTA board has several concerns about this proposed change.  Our concerns are expressed in the formal “letter” which will be sent to legislators, the Governor, Commissioner Cassellius and Education Minnesota. 

You may or may not agree with the proposed changes made in the bill and you may or may not agree with the MnSTA board concerns.  However, the Legislative Policy Committee does want you to be aware of the proposed changes.  If you desire to express your concerns please contact your local Minnesota State Representative and Senator.  In addition you might want to contact the members of the House Education Reform and Senate Education Committees. 

-Chuck Handlon
MnSTA Legislative Policy Committee Chair

 

 Contact information:

House Education Reform Committee

Chair Rep. Sondra Erickson  rep.sondra.erickson@house.mn

Representative Connie Doepke rep.connie.doepke@house.mn

Representative   Carlos Mariani  rep.carlos.mariani@house.mn

Representative Roger Crawford rep.roger.crawford@house.mn

Representative Mindy Greiling rep.mindy.greiling@house.mn

Representative Andrea Kieffer rep.andrea.kieffer@house.mn

Representative Carol McFarlane rep.carol.mcfarlane@house.mn

Representative Mike Murdock rep.mark.murdock@house.mn

Representative Branden Petersen rep.branden.petersen@house.mn

Representative Sandra Petersen rep.sandra.peterson@house.mn

Representative Kelby Woodard rep.kelby.woodard@house.mn

Representative Bob Barrett rep.bob.barrett@house.mn

Representative John Benson rep.john.benson@house.mn

Representative Jim Davnie rep.jim.davnie@house.mn  

Representative Kory Kath rep.kory.kath@house.mn

(Author) Representative Debra Kiel rep.deb.kiel@house.mn

Representative Rena Moran rep.rena.moran@house.mn

Representative Pam Myhra rep.pam.myhra@house.mn

Representative Kim Norton rep.kim.norton@house.mn

Representative Tim O’Driscoll rep.tim.odriscoll@house.mn

Representative Tom Tillberry rep.tom.tillberry@house.mn

   

Senate Education Committee

(Chair) Senator Gen Olson sen.gen.olson@senate.mn

(Author) Senator LeRoy Stumpf LeRoy A. Stumpf

Senator Roger Chamberlain sen.roger.chamberlain@senate.mn

Senator Al DeKruif sen.al.dekruif@senate.mn

Senator John Harrington sen.john.harrington@senate.mn

Senator Katie Sieben sen.katie.sieben@senate.mn

Senator David Tomassoni David J. Tomassoni

Senator Patricia Torres Ray Patricia Torres Ray

Senator Chuck Wiger sen.chuck.wiger@senate.mn

Senator Carla Nelson sen.carla.nelson@senate.mn

Senator Terri Bonoff sen.terri.bonoff@senate.mn

Senator Ted Daley sen.ted.daley@senate.mn

Senator David Hann David W. Hann

Senator Benjamin Kruse sen.benjamin.kruse@senate.mn

Senator Sean Nienow sen.sean.nienow@senate.mn

Senator Pam Wolf sen.pam.wolf@senate.mn

Senator Dave Thompson sen.dave.thompson@senate.mn